The Student Room Group

Conditional Offers for International Students?

Okay...

Basically, I'm an Australian student looking to apply for the 2013 intake. Our final exams are in November (we get our results back in late December), and from my understanding, applications open in October. Would I be able to use my predicted results to apply to Oxford for a conditional offer in October?

There's nothing on the Oxford website (from my research) that has stated this, so I thought it would be best to come here before directly emailing the school. (I'm a long time lurker, first time poster.)

Thanks! :smile:
Hey... I applied (and got an offer) from NSW doing the HSC.

Ask your school to put a predicted ATAR into your UCAS application (if the school is uncomfortable with giving out predicted ATARs, tell them that you can't actually see what they put in - so as long as it's above the 98.5 cut-off Oxford recommends, then you don't mind what exactly it is). Your college will then treat that prediction the same as it would an English student's - i.e. they'll set you a requirement (mine was the 98.5 as per the website) which you inform them of when you get the results back. In my case, I actually had my ATAR several days before the offer came out, even though it was a conditional offer anyway.
Reply 2
Original post by m-rob
x

Thanks so much! That explained a LOT of questions :smile:
I've just started year 11 and am trying to best prepare myself for the application process as possible. I think I'll start (briefly) on my personal statement in the holidays.
Congrats on your offers... the both of you! Which college/s are you going to, and what subject/s are you studying (just out of curiosity)?
(... not sounding stalker-ish AT ALL. :biggrin:)