Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I have a 2:1 from a very good university
    and have now got a paralegal position with a high st firm in the family dept
    i will be doing the lpc along with that part time
    im curious about whether i will be forever stuck in the high street or is there scope to secure a training contract with a mid size firm that also does family/private client etc or move into a firm like this once I am a qualified solicitor?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hibiscus)
    I have a 2:1 from a very good university
    and have now got a paralegal position with a high st firm in the family dept
    i will be doing the lpc along with that part time
    im curious about whether i will be forever stuck in the high street or is there scope to secure a training contract with a mid size firm that also does family/private client etc or move into a firm like this once I am a qualified solicitor?
    There is no reason why you should not move on to a larger firm.

However I struggle a little with your definitions.

Mid-sized firm means different things to different people. To a lot of the people on these threads an 80 partner firm would be mid-sized. However, 85% of law firms have fewer than five partners. What do you mean by mid sized?

Very few family and private client firms are not High Street (or at least were High Street within the last five years or so before moving out to a business park) except in the more well-healed parts of London.

ReputationRep:
    yeah i guess i'm talking about those firms in the 'well healed parts of london' firms like payne hicks beach, withers, boodle hatfield etc

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hibiscus)
    yeah i guess i'm talking about those firms in the 'well healed parts of london' firms like payne hicks beach, withers, boodle hatfield etc