Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I was just wondering as to whether my A levels/GCSEs are a good mix for when I apply to medicine?

GCSEs: Science: AA
    Graphics: A
    Maths: B
    English lit: B
    RE: B
    Geography: B
    French: C
    English Language: C ):
    Art: D

I screwed up on my GCSEs simply because I didn't revise for a single exam bar science, what a fool I was...

I am currently studying for my As levels, and by the end of the year hope to have got an A in chemistry, biology, geology, and geography.

Next year I am taking Chemistry, Biology, and Geography (Good choices for a medicine application?)

I am soon going to start work experience in a local old folks home, and am planning on joining St John's Ambulance. I am also a fully qualified sailing instructor and teach foreign students during the holidays.

If I did happen to get all A's at the end of my As year how would you consider my application would fare if I applied for medicine?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    I'm not an expert on medical applications, but given the insanely high standards that they seem to have (60% of applicants are rejected from all four choices, some medical schools instantly reject you if you don't have 8 A*, and a lot of people get rejected even with straight A* at GCSE) I honestly don't think you're in a great position.

ReputationRep:
    Unfortunately, your GCSEs will limit where you can apply as some med schools ask for specific grades.
    Have a look at this table http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki...E_Requirements and work on making the rest of your application very strong. If you do choose to apply, make sure you choose your universities wisely.

Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    Hi yor gcse grades ll affect your chances and so will your a levels as most medicine degress require 3 sciences or 2 sciences and one math with grades AAAB The b in you fourth a level

ReputationRep: