Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have offers for the GDL at CoL (Bloomsbury), BPP (Waterloo), Edinburgh Uni and Glasgow Uni. City University said no. I'm 29 and I have a bad undergrad degree; it's a general degree, no honours no named subject (I was young). However, since then I have got a Masters degree in International Relations and a Research Masters in Political Theory. I wrote dissertation on the C17th international lawyer Hugo Grotius on his jurisprudence and international law theory.
    Inbetween the 1st and 2nd degrees I worked as a tour manager for a comedy/theatre production company. I also worked at Radio 4 for a while. I'm currently teaching English in Korea, my contract lasts until March 2012.

If I take up a GDL place I will break my contract and lose the small bonus I get if I fulfill it. However, I'm aware time is pressing, I'm already 29 and so I'm eager to start as soon as possible. However I have minimal savings (about 5k come Sept '11) and so will be relying on a Natwest loan (presuming I get one) to pay for the fees and the year in London. I don't have a TC or any expereince of working with a firm. Edinburgh and Glasgow are 2 year courses and are two expensive as a result.

In terms of a law career I would want to work for the government legal service or an IO such as the UN. I think I would get high grades in the GDL and I can't wait to begin it but I suppose I don't seem like a template candidate for a potential employer, not by any means.
    I'd like some advice from those in the know please. Should I begin in Sept 2011 and do I have a chance of getting a TC for doing an LPC the following year?
    Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Saxaphone Joe)