Turn on thread page Beta

Paying parents rent watch

ReputationRep:
    I am currently making around £200 per week working full time and living at home with parents.

I pay £15 a week on travel (to and from work)

£25 a week on food (breakfast/lunch)

I pay £150 a week to my parents as "board" (bills/rent/food)

leaving me with £10 a week to spend on clothes/hobbies/socializing

I worry that at this rate I will never be able to save up and move out, I still need to learn to drive and I plan on renewing my passport and moving back to my homeland. My parents are in a comfortable position financially (just bought a new house and various other things for their "hobbies") and I do feel that I need to pay them to live with them but is £600 a month too much?

I have been paying this amount for about 4 months and it has only just started bothering me that I am working full time but have no money to spend on myself.

ReputationRep:
    you could get a flat in many parts of the country for less than that! Ask them why so much!

ReputationRep:
    yes, 75% of your wages is extortionate, i got mine down to 30%

you would probably be better off renting somewhere else, im sure it wouldnt come to more than £150 a week.

They are probably trying to nicely encourage you to move out

ReputationRep:
    You can get a room for half that. Ok, it might be seedy but you'll be more independent and able to save more. Move out.

ReputationRep:
    you give £150 a week jheezus

Might aswell get your own 1 bed flat for like 70 a week....

Given you can get a room in a houseshare for around half that amount per week it seems rather excessive. If I was living at home with my parents and working full time I wouldn't pay more than half of my wage. Can you talk to your parents about paying them less each week?

ReputationRep:
    600 a month to live at home, that is ridicolous! when you only get 800 a month..

ReputationRep: