Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello all

Does anyone have any info on how to get into an Associate role within IB?

As a bit of background: I qualified as a Chartered Accountant at a big four accountancy firm in 2009, then did a year's post-qualification experience there (plus a few internal moves to make sure I'd exhausted all my options) and moved to a middle office product control role at one of the big banks towards the end of last year. Basically I knew PC wasn't for me long-term, but I wanted the banking exposure while I thought about what I really wanted to do there. I'm now a lot clearer on where I want to go (I miss the client side and want to get into IB - markets isn't for me), but obviously I don't want to go for a graduate Analyst job when I have over 4 years' work experience already....

I've only just started researching it all, but so far I think GS is the only firm I've seen that do official Associate "intakes" (missed the deadline for this year though so even if I got a job for the next intake it wouldn't start until July 2012! Really couldn't handle PC for another 18 months!), all the rest just seem to be experienced hire type things which often require very specific experience within a similar role. I work in Fixed Income right now so could try and leverage off that (DCM appeals anyway), but essentially I'd be bullsh1tting a bit! Clearly a good option would be to move internally, but you can't do that until you've been in your role for a year (so that's another 8 months for me) - not necessarily a bad thing as staying put for a year probably looks a lot better on my CV, but to be honest my current job gives me about as much exposure to IBD as it does to surfing in Indonesia!