Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    TLDR: qmul, notts or kings?

Indepth: I once received a great piece of advice from a reputed lawyer, and that was whenever we are stuck choosing between universities of similar ranking, reputation and supposed competency of their respective law faculties - choose the one that gives you the highest chance of getting a first.

Shockingly, I find this factor neglected when it comes to choosing between universities. Understandably, evidence is almost purely anecdotal when it comes to compiling such statistics.

As an example, I shall present my situation: I am an international student from Singapore and have received unconditional offers for studying Law (M100) at Nottingham and Queen Mary. KCL has yet to reply me. My applications to UCL and LSE were unsuccessful (curses! they would have made the choice so much easier). Singapore is my homeland, and where my friends and family are, and so I have decided to practice here.

Despite straight As, I couldn't get into the local universities (a GP grade of C, min. req B), I sought out to dig for information, and here's what I've come up with. (Disclaimer: My opinions are not facts, I understand that. Please correct/advise me where I come across too strongly.)

Employers employ in categories
    In Singapore, the big law firms prefer local graduates to overseas graduates, despite our system being similar to that of the UK. This is for many reasons. Our NUS/SMU (the local universities which offer law) are trusted for their rigorous syllabus. Overseas? Not so much. Extrapolating, I seem to get a certain vibe that firms in a particular region tend to gravitate towards local graduates. Opinion: The mental model that your prospective firm subconsciously fits you into falls under these categories, that also, in descending order, determine their willingness to call you up for the interview and subsequently hire you:

Taking local universities out of the equation...