Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    As the title suggests I'm finding it hard to choose between King's College London or Queen Mary. They are both in London, however King's is in Waterloo (well, my course) and Queen Mary is in Miles End which I find seem a little 'rough'. As well as that, KCL does a BA whereas Queen Mary does a BSc.

Which one shall I choose, in terms of reputation, area and the course?

ReputationRep:
    In terms of reputation, KCL is more prestigious.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah seems a pretty straightforward choice for KCL (which is sometimes grouped with UCL, LSE, and Imperial to form part of the 'golden triangle'), both in terms of reputation and area. The course is more personal and that's up to you i guess..

ReputationRep:
    Dunno if you're still making your mind up, but I thought I'd pitch in. I graduated from Queen Mary last summer. I didn't take Linguistics, but I had friends who did, and I sat in on some of their lectures.

1. Reputation

KCL is the winner here (I am of course obliged to say that QM is the better institution, but if you're interested in the weight of a name on your CV, KCL wins).

2. Area

I worried about Mile End before I went to uni, but I rather liked it and its surrounding areas. For context, I'm a soft-spoken, mild-mannered person from the South coast of England, and I was privately educated, so if anyone was going to feel out of place it would be me. East London is scruffier, of course, but I never personally experienced any violence or theft and was able to move out to pleasant (and comparatively cheap) accomodation for my second and third years. Living there was eye-opening, and very educational.

3. Course