Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm studying the Tsarist Russia 1855-1917 and my exam board is AQA.
    Now I have finished my course at school, I'm currently revising for my June Exam.
    I need some help on this exam question;
    "Explain the consequences of the abolition of Serfdom" (12 Marks)
    "It was better to abolish serfdom from above rather than wait until it abolishes itself from below" How fare do you agree with this view (24 Marks)
    My teacher advised me to write 3 factors for the 12 marker and 3 factors for and against for the 24 marker. However I'm not sure what are the factors for the 12 marker becuase in the textbook (Sally Walker endorsed by AQA) it says that not all serfs benefits ect but what other consequences are there?
    Please help!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm studying the Tsarist Russia 1855-1917 and my exam board is AQA.
    Now I have finished my course at school, I'm currently revising for my June Exam.
    I need some help on this exam question;
    "Explain the consequences of the abolition of Serfdom" (12 Marks)
    "It was better to abolish serfdom from above rather than wait until it abolishes itself from below" How fare do you agree with this view (24 Marks)
    My teacher advised me to write 3 factors for the 12 marker and 3 factors for and against for the 24 marker. However I'm not sure what are the factors for the 12 marker becuase in the textbook (Sally Walker endorsed by AQA) it says that not all serfs benefits ect but what other consequences are there?
    Please help!
    1- less likely to revolt and cause a revolution - Tsars were able to control and mobilise the work force to their advantage whilst giving them their 'freedom'
    2- land was given to Serfs - redemption fees ect
    3- lead to an increase in urban popualtion - Russia's economy started to shift from rural to urban.

that's how I'd look at it but I do OCR so it may not be much help!