Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey, the following is an assignment concerning EU Law which I need to do. I am just trying to identify the key points and issues that need to be researched and discussed. The problem seems to relate to issues concerning the right to work in another EU member state, and 'rights to claim benefits' after just entering a fellow EU member state. I am sure there is lots more to it however. I looking for any pointers or advice anyone might have as how to approach this problem. This is my first time to do an assignment on EU Law so I assume the procedure is a little different. It is just a bit intimidating as I do not know where to start my research.

Many Thanks in advance!!

''Jack is a French citizen who has moved to Spain. He has supported himself for the past few months by playing music on the streets. Two weeks ago, he was approached to become part of a local rock band. The band plays regular gigs in pubs in Madrid (usually playing for about 15 hours a week). Last week they played at a pub owned by Miguel. Miguel has said to the band that he would like them to play regularly at his pub from now on. He will phone them each week and let them know what night. Some weeks, if it does not suit Miguel, no gig will take place.

Jack has been joined in Madrid by his girlfriend, Marie, who is pregnant with Jack's child. Marie has made a claim for unemployment benefit and maternity payments. These have been rejected by the Spanish authorities on the grounds that Marie is not a Spanish national and has not been resident in Spain for the 6 months required by Spanish law to claim such benefits. Her claim that she is dependent on Jack has been rejected on the grounds they are not married.

Advise Jack and Marie of their rights under EU Law.''

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by zobags)