Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Im a 2nd yr student ripping my hair out... 2 Iv's - gender, Male-female and social class, lots of levels, dv, fear of victimization, likert style (british crime survey) what test to run? i have looked at every text book an have no comparison to use...

ReputationRep:
    Factorial ANOVA - 2 x how ever many levels of social class.

Your DV sucks somewhat as a continuous variable, but if you check assumptions and make an offering to the FSM you'll probably be fine.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks, we have been given a naff data set and have to come up with a proposal and write it up.

ReputationRep:
    I have now been told to keep the 2, iv's and combine all the dv's into 1 dv. how do i do that?

ReputationRep:
    Your DV is fear of victimisation. That's one DV.

Your two IVs are Gender, with two levels, and Social Class, with many levels.

So you'll be wanting to do a within-subjects ANOVA. (As subjects will be in at least two of your levels.)

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for that but how do I combine all the dv's into 1, as there were 8 questions relating to diff accounts of fear eg, walking alone, fear being attacked etc

ReputationRep:
    Are you doing this on SPSS?

PS you're terming is wrong, be careful with that. You have 1 DV, fear of victimisation.

Those at questions are not your DV, they are the items that add up for you DV.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Millie-mollie)
    Thanks for that but how do I combine all the dv's into 1, as there were 8 questions relating to diff accounts of fear eg, walking alone, fear being attacked etc
    Try to see this as comparable to measure of Depression - lots of questions that effectively tap one underlying dimension/factor. For instance, the BDI measures various aspects of depression-related behaviours and individual items are summed to give an overall 'depression' (BDI) score.