Turn on thread page Beta

help please - english PGCE interview! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I know there are lots of posts like this already but I wondered if anyone could offer advice?
    I have two PGCE interviews in the next fortnight, onem at Swindon SCITT and one at Gloucester, both for English.

I have tried for the last two years to get into teaching but get really nervous in the interviews. I have over 2 years experience of working in a secondary school as a TA, private tutoring and various work and placements within schools before that.

Without meaning to sound big headed I know I would be good at it, I just need to convince them of that! The question "why do you want to teach" terrifies me, as I struggle to put it into words, but there is honestly nothing else I have ever wanted to do. I love working in a school and that everyday is different and find working with students so rewarding. I guess I just answered it but do you think that will sound ok?

I have been reading up on key issues - SEAL, ECM, the curriculum reform, academies, the english baccalaureate and obviously am experienced in SEN. But is there anything I have missed that is subject specific?

I just really want this year to be my year!

Thanks, Katy

ReputationRep:
    Hey there

I interviewed at a different uni to where you will be but at my interview I got asked questions like:
    Why do you want to teach English?
    What is English? Why is it important?
    How would you lay out your classroom? (Eg how would you have the desks? What would you put on the walls?)
    Talk about a really good English lesson you've seen recently.

I also got given 3/4 short extracts, one poetry and two prose, to read through then got asked to talk about one of the extracts. That caught me a bit off guard and I wish I asked for a little more time to consider them but it must have gone OK in the end as I got in!