Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I want to go into the computer industry either working as an Networks manager, systems analyst or software engineer and i was wondering if there are any other qualifications you can get which are the equivalent to a degree
    I am currently in my first year of A levels and i am 'bright' i can keep up with the standard of work, and i think i could with university too. But i am interested in discovering other routes too

Neo didn't have a degree. He learnt Kung Fu using a computer too.

I think people always assume that you need a degree or equivalent to get into IT when actually graduates can find it very difficult to get a job as they don't have the IT experience or industry recognised certification. You should really consider an IT Apprenticeship like we at QA offer. The government are really backing apprenticeships as a way into employment as they can be even more effective than a degree.

If you want any info or have any questions, just give me a shout

Entry level jobs tend to focus on first line support, these will then lead to other jobs…If you want to be involved with networking or system analysis, you can always self-study and progress through entry level support roles gaining experience before moving on to different roles…