Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am studying the final year of a Design for Digital Media Degree and this year due to lack of motivation, bad health I've just not felt I've put my best in and I'm stuck on grades just over the pass mark. I have had no restarts so far, but I've been told by one of the lecturers that you cannot redo the 3rd year. Is this correct?
    I've read that you can receive the student loan for up to 4 years (you are allowed one restart) so what is the reality of this? I just want some advice before I go into my University and talk about it. I want to start the whole 3rd year again in September with a fresh start.

Thanks, Ben

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by djparce)
    I am studying the final year of a Design for Digital Media Degree and this year due to lack of motivation, bad health I've just not felt I've put my best in and I'm stuck on grades just over the pass mark. I have had no restarts so far, but I've been told by one of the lecturers that you cannot redo the 3rd year. Is this correct?
    I've read that you can receive the student loan for up to 4 years (you are allowed one restart) so what is the reality of this? I just want some advice before I go into my University and talk about it. I want to start the whole 3rd year again in September with a fresh start.

Thanks, Ben
    You usually can't resit the third year - However one of my friends has restarted third year because he had mitigating circumstances that allowed it. If it's just lack of motivation they'll say no. If you have a proven medical thing affecting you now that will have gone by September or be under control then it's worth considering. Especially if you're first and second year marks (when you weren't ill) were significantly higher than this years marks.

ReputationRep:

Thanks, Ben