Turn on thread page Beta

Accused of plagiarism - I actually feel like topping myself... watch

ReputationRep:
    I sound dramatic, I know. But that's exactly what I want to do right now.

I'm doing languages at Cardiff uni. I'm in first year so I have to do an additional subject - I chose religious studies. I'm so scared I'll get chucked out.

I really don't care about RS, I just want to pass it. I had an essay to do. I thought the deadline was the Friday but then I realised it might be on the Wednesday, so I rushed it. I cannot deny what I have done. I did it the night before. I pretty much paraphrased websites, the main one being wikipedia (I know, I know.) At the time, I didn't think of it as plagiarism but I guess it is. It was a very complex question, so that's really all I could think of doing. I have been very stupid and I am very sorry for what I have done.

I have a meeting with my RS tutor and someone else, who I think is the head of RS. It's in a week. I will show you the letter -

I am writing to you in my capacity as Unfair Practice Co-ordinator for The School of Religious and Theological Studies. Your submission of the assessment for Religion, Culture and Society II has been reported to me, as it is suggested that this piece of work shows evidence of plagiarism.

In accordance with the University’s Unfair Practice Procedure, a meeting will be held with you to discuss this matter. The purpose of this meeting is to establish the facts in relation to this allegation, which will then be reported to the Chair of the Examining

As part of the process I shall be making a note of the meeting, and a copy will be provided to both yourself and the Chair of the Examining Board. The Chair will then consider the further action to be taken, if any, in this case. The options open to the Chair are shown at paragraph 5.6 of the Unfair Practice Procedure. A copy of the Procedure is held on the web and the reference is shown at the foot of this letter.