Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Does anyone think that medicine will be less competitive for 2012 entry, than for 2011 entry.

I know that there was a huge increase in the number of applicants this year, and many of them were trying to get in this year to avoid paying 9,000 per year.

So, is it likely there will be less applicants this year.

Especially, for graduate entry. I am a current graduate and I know that many people including myself would be unable to afford 9000 pounds per year for medicine as a second degree.

ReputationRep:
    Sorry, I'm unable to answer your question because all I know is that apparently GEM is even more competitive than undergraduate entry, but I'm just curious about something...

won't SAAS help you out with some of the fees?

ReputationRep:
    who the hell gave me negative rep? I was only asking a question.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ScottishShortiex)
    Sorry, I'm unable to answer your question because all I know is that apparently GEM is even more competitive than undergraduate entry, but I'm just curious about something...

won't SAAS help you out with some of the fees?
    No, saas do not pay tuition fees for graduates. Only a maintainence loan.

ReputationRep:
    hi i think the 2012 med entry will defo see a decrease in number of applicants as people will not want to pay £45,000 for the whole of 4 years! also i think there will be less graduates applying for both the 5 and 4 year course as they wont be able to afford a second degree. realistically there will be less people applying for any degree. most unis have already confirmed their tuition fees for next year which are £6-9000 a year

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lisa101)