Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello guys,

Not sure this is the right forum but here goes....

I completed an hons degree last year and have now decided I want to do a postgrad in primary school teaching. For whatever reasons, in school I did not sit any GCSE's, so obviously I need to rectify that if I want to be eligible for a postgrad. I've searched quite a bit online and am struggling to find any colleges or, schools at night, which do these courses. Does anyone know of any colleges in Scotland (preferably Glasgow) that let you do GCSE's as an adult?

Thanks

Andrew

ReputationRep:
    Education in Scotland is devolved to the Scottish Parliament and thus Scotland's education system is different to England and Wales. Students at school in Scotland sit Standard Grades, not GCSEs, so if you are set on staying in Glasgow I would try to take Standard Grade English and maths. They are a nationally recognised GCSE-equivalent qualification and can therefore be used instead of GCSEs (after all Scottish people become teachers too!).

ReputationRep:
    Postgrad entries state GCSE's, although I do mean standard grades in my case.

ReputationRep:
    Well according to the GTTR website (who handle almost all PGCE and PGDE applications) the requirements are:

Academic requirements for entry to courses in England and Wales

Primary, middle years and secondary teaching courses

Before you can start a PGCE course in primary, middle years or secondary teaching in England or Wales you must have:

1. a degree awarded by a UK university or college or a recognised equivalent qualification

and be able to show that you have

2. the knowledge of English required to obtain a GCSE at grade C.

3. the knowledge of mathematics required to obtain a GCSE at grade C.