Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

I am new to TSR (relatively - somewhat of a lurker!) and I am very sorry to bother you with a query that I am sure has been posted many a time before in one form or another. But I am a second year History undergrad at Warwick and have set my sights on a career at the bar. This is not just a passing fancy, it is something I have been considering for a while and have endlessly researched. I am attracted in particular to civil liberties/human rights (which according to my father is laughably common among aspiring lawyers). Anyway, anyway, I know I am going to need to do the GDL when I graduate from Warwick but I sort of don't just want to sit back and wait. I want to be doing lots of different things to help me get to the bar... now! I trawled the internet for mini-pupillages and did apply to the few I came across in the areas I am interested in that accepted apps from non-law undergrads but they don't appear to have come to anything as of yet. So outside of mini-pupillages... what else could I be doing? Anyone who has been in a similar position with any advice would be wonderful.

I have some informal work experience lined up at a top set chambers next week which I am very very very lucky to get. But what else could I be doing, aside from informal work exp like this that is not exactly easy to come by anyway...?

Perhaps there is not a great deal to be doing at the moment and I should concentrate on getting a good degree instead of endlessly googling 'how to become a barrister'...

Thank you for your time.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ally G)
    Hello!