Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

Im 24 years old. When I was 18 I started a degree in Law with French Law at UCL completing the first year successfully. Due to various problems (unrelated to the course) I decided it wasn't for me. I transferred to philosophy which I graduated in last year with a 2.1.

I have decided a career in law is now for me and am super motivated. However before that I have two years of Teach First coming up, so I am 2 years away from GDL & LPC etc.

By the time I apply I will have the following:

2.1. in Philosophy from UCL.
    A Masters in Education and Leadership.
    2 years of Teach First (graduate teaching scheme in tough schools..fairly elite) + Fully Qualified teacher.
    Coach at Tottenham Hotspur's academy.
    Fluent in English an French. Learning Chinese. Basic Italian.
    AABB(A) at A level

As well as various other generic extracurriculars.

Question: I will be 26 by the time I start the GDL. Will top law firms be put off by this given a fairly rounded CV?
    Magic Circle realistic ambition?
    What do I need to do to put myself in the best position? I realistically need a TC and funding for both GDL and LPC...

You guys are super helpful in here and there's a great atmosphere so thanks for any assistance

ReputationRep:
    The difficulty will be in persuading firms why you have now decided on law, as opposed to teaching. If you can put forward persuasive arguments on that front then your CV should be of interest.

Things such as your football coaching (even though it's Spurs) will catch recruiters' attention provided you can explain what transferable skills you've learnt.

ReputationRep:
    I would have ignored this, except I saw the words "Tottenham Hotspur", so I'm all in.

Wrong time of year, but there's an easy litmus test.