Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

IB help for overseas student watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm an oversea student and will be attending IB curriculum based school that intends to offer the following subjects:

http://i53.tinypic.com/rix2mb.jpg

Which subjects should I choose? I'm more into science than subjects like history etc.

ReputationRep:
    I assume you know that taking the IB means you do have to take at least 2 non-science related subjects (english and a foreign language is compulsory). You dont have to take the arts but you would have to substitute it with a Humanities subject (ie group 3 subjects). You can take two from group 4 (ie the physical sciences) but only in rare circumstances would you be able to take a third science (hence the asterisk after "Third Science" in group 3). Its not good for others to choose your subjects for you, you should choose it based on merits of your own interests, strengths, aptitudes, and what you want to study in university.

However the framework - according to your preferences - could go something like this:

Group 1: English (compulsory)
    Group 2: Foreign language (compulsory)
    Group 4: choose any 1 or 2
    Group 3: if chosen 2 from Group 4, take the "third science" option, if possible
    Group 6: if chosen 1 from Group 4, take Biology, and take the "third science" option in Group 3, if possible
    Group 5: Maths (compulsory)

It should be noted that the IA's (internal assessments) of the sciences are incredibly time consuming, and may take up a lot of your focus on other subjects. I am also assuming that your EE (extended essay) will be based on one of the sciences, which is incredibly difficult to get a high mark in compared to EE's done in other subjects. Also, given that you have a massive science focus, it also narrows uni options as well as courses.