Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Year in industry . . Been offered a job in AUSTRALIA, help needed!!!!! watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

Im currently in my second year at university and i have applied to do a year in industry!

I had a skype interview with this man in Australia concerning a marketing and events internship.. sounds amazing the only problem is that the salary is only rougly £3k. They dont pay for flights, visas NOTHING. It is also a 8.30-5 job for 12 months!!

It sounds like an amazing oppertunity, there is already a girl from my uni there at the moment and she loves it!! The only thing that is stopping me from accepting is the small salary!!!

Anyone know how much it roughly costs to live in AUStralia and general advice pleaseeee

thankss xxx

ReputationRep:
    Oh and they offered me the job, forgot to mention that minor bit of info xxx

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cnsbabe)
    Oh and they offered me the job, forgot to mention that minor bit of info xxx
    Surely you're being PAID to live in australia for a year, boost your CV profoundly and have an incredible experience!

I realise on the face of it the salary looks awful, but think of the long term!
    That will boost your job opportunities so much, and you'll never regret going you'll have the time of your life

ReputationRep:
    do you not even get accomadation or anything? Sounds like you will essentially be paying for this experience, with no money to enjoy the life out there at all - in which case surely you could find similar internships/experience in the UK, without having to shell out 1000s extra to participate..

ReputationRep:
    What? 3000?

Your basically paying to work with them, that's pathetic.

Your going to potentially have to find some other way to earn money, or go through savings etc, to even be able to live over there.

If you have a choice, go soemwhere else, somewhere that pays a normal amount.

ReputationRep: