Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

My neighbour is a sponger despite being far better off, what to do? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Its not student accomodation, I live in private flats(though I am student)

I am a part time student and on benefits whereas he works full time and wears quite expensive clothes just to give you an idea of differences in income,

Anyway 18 days ago I spent about 6 hours repairing his laptop and didnt ask for money(though it would be good to be friends just in case I have problems with anyone in future)

At the time he knew I have internet so asked to pay half each month(which is only £6 but a lot to me) and yet he has made not a single bit of effort to pay, but a few times has knocked on my door for help with a few faults on his laptop

Also 6 weeks ago he asked to borrow my old CRT which I left in hallway of building for like 8 months as its too heavy to carry (takes a few regular people) so I said he could borrow it for 2 weeks on the basis he will take it up to my flat as its too heavy to lift on own.

I only loaned it to him for that reason (to save me hiring someone to lift it up stairs for me) plus he told me his tv is broken.

Anyway I found out he has 3 massive tvs(about 32 inch each) in each room and he admitted he only wanted mine as it was a Sony(and top of the range like 6 or 7 years ago.

So it seems he is sponging off me, which I feel is even worse when he is working full time and I am unemployed and struggling with money!

What would you do?

ReputationRep:
    What planet do you live on?

ReputationRep:
    Erm okay, here's an idea.
    DON'T LET HIM SPONGE OFF YOU. MAN UP.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lechaton-x)
    Erm okay, here's an idea.
    DON'T LET HIM SPONGE OFF YOU. MAN UP.
    Because thats sooooooo easy isnt it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by drbluebox)
    'No sir, you can't have my TV'
    'You have to pay your half'