Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Who has self taught themselves the guitar and succeeded? watch

ReputationRep:
    Advice? Tips? How do I begin? Is is difficult?

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently teaching myself

These articles are quite helpful, particularly for the very basic stuff. It teaches you chords, scales, strumming, fingerpicking, and other bits and pieces.

You can find lots of video tutorials on Youtube, although the ones I've seen are better to use once you know a little bit and have learnt the chords.

Once you know some basics, I found it easier just to go straight into playing tabs. They're very easy to read (although if you click about on the link up there, you'll find guides to understanding them too), and it's much more satisfying to play bits of a song that you know rather than just chords over and over again.

If you know someone else who plays the guitar, it'd be worth asking them to show you a few things. Boyfriend plays too, and is happy to talk me through playing some things ("this finger there...that finger there..."), as I've found it easier to learn when I'm shown it first. Make sure the person has a bit of patience though!

Good luck!

Edited to add: You'll need a guitar too (obviously!), and a tuner, and an amp if it's electric. Don't splash out too wildly on one though - get a cheapish one (mine was about £100 including an amp, tuner and spare set of strings, which is the standard sort of package that lots of places sell) to start you off.

ReputationRep:
    Define 'succeeded'? My brother taught himself and he knows vaguely the strum sounds and stuff but he's not like awesomely good at it or anything..

ReputationRep: