Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Calling successful applicants who dropped Biology at A2 watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I know that there are only a few places that state that they want Biology to full A2, although most require it at AS. Do you think that unis will wonder why I have dropped it for A2 (if I do)? I am currently studying Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology and in my first AS module, my lowest mark was for Biology, where I only just scraped an A. I am more likely to get an A* in Maths and Physics and A at Chemistry should be fine but I'm worried that I might jeopardise my chance of acheiving AAA/A*AA with Biology because I just don't seem to be able to answer questions in the right way for AQA Biology. I know the stuff but seem to lose silly marks because they are so specific about the wording needed. Will it look odd if I drop it, or should I just work my ass off to make sure that I get an A?
    Is there anyone else out there that's dropped Biology and managed to get a place for medicine? Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Yes it is ok, if they say they don't require it at A2 then they won't question it. I've dropped Biology because virtually anyone in the year gets an A though I did get a high A at Jan but the power of my ISA score pulled it down to a high B.

ReputationRep:
    I dream of the day I get an A chief, so don't be worrying about "scraping the grade". You are achieving some very, very good grades so go for the ones you are most comfortable in studying.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the replies so far. I know I am achieving good grades LandyJon but the thing is that I have to for medicine and I can't afford to drop below an A for Biology. This is what worries me. Obviously lots will depend on how I do in May/June exams. I'd just like to hear from others who have dropped Biology for reassurance (if there are any).

ReputationRep: