Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I'm going to be apply for Vacation Schemes from October and was wondering if there are any good books that you give you hints and tips for the application process/interview?

I'm thinking along the lines of 'A Dummy's guide to VS applications'...type thing.

I know there are books giving advice for medicine interviews so I assume there will be something similar for Vacation Schemes.

Please let me know if there is one that you can recommend.

Thank you x

ReputationRep:
    This reminds me of the French author Jean Giraudoux
    The secret of success is sincerity. Once you can fake that you've got it made

ReputationRep:
    Hi. I think websites tend to be more informative than books about making the great application, and even then they haven't told me anything extremely useful. I'm not an expert on writing law firm applications, but I've gotten enough interviews and rejections to roughly figure out what makes you stand out. Here's what I think:

1. Make sure your application truly pertains to the firm you're applying for. I don't necessarily mean putting in a few names of cases they've done in your application (though some HR people might like this!), but really understand their strengths, practice areas, and how you fit into that equation. Match up your passions with their practices. If you love working in environments with thousands of other people, don't put that anywhere in your application when you're applying to a mid-sized firm. Also, look on their website to see what kind of person they're looking for e.g. someone with teamwork skills, analytical skills, and be prepared to speak about how you match up with these in your application and interview.