Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How do i get an A* in AQA English literature & English Language GCSE??!! Watch

ReputationRep:
    Basically im doing gcse english double award AQA...
    i've got two B's in my coursework and i was wondering if there was a possibility of getting A*'s overall. im currently studying "mice of men" and the "anthology" book with poems such as "limbo","vultures","two scavengers in a truck" etc...
    i was wondering if anyone has the criteria that virtually garentee's that A* grade
    or if anyone has even any tips and even if anyone has additional tips on how to even revise for the exams or how to write fast in the "comparing 4 poems" section in the exam because im skeptical of what i've been taught thanks.. =)

ReputationRep:
    Well, don't mean to dampen your hopes there, but considering that as i have had a and a* on my coursework pieces, and a in my other exam and a 'b' in my romeo & juliet exam, i still need 12 ums to get to a* overall for my english language. Now... i'm gonna redo my 'a' courseworks and resit my r&j exam to get those 12 ums to get the a*. Personally, i would suggest you to redo your coursework, if you can and get extremely high in the exams. A* to get an a* overall. I don't think ill get an a* in the r and j resit but i will try. I mean, an a is not that bad considering a lot of people can only dream of an a

ReputationRep:
    well yh i dont really mind getting an A because im not carrying it on further for A levels... if you have any notes and stuff on the poems please refer it to me thanks

ReputationRep:
    For the novel, I did To Kill a Mockingbird, but I did the same poems as you.
    Frankly, you may want to purchase the CGP book on poems if you're really stuck - it gives you ideas on how to structure your essays as well as how to approach the question.

Oh and we also used something called FLIRT for the poems:

Form
    Language
    Imagery
    Rhyme
    Theme/tone