Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm new to this I'm currently writing a personal statement for a Fastrack course with progression onto initial teacher training. I'm 23 and haven't got any A levels but I do have experience in primary school having worked as a teaching assistant for over 12 months. I am looking for advice on how best to sell myself as I'm aware I don't have half the qualifications of other applicants.
    What do you think my chances are of actually gaining a place?
    Any help or guidance would be great!
    Thank you

ReputationRep:
    What is this Fasttrack course?
    You need to compare you qualifications to the mandatory requirements set out by the course provider.

If you do not meet their minimum requirements i would think it unlikely you will get on... teaching is very competative (even more so now that numbers have been slashed) so if you're competing with someone with the same experience but they have A Levels and degree - I would think they would be offered thay place.

However, in saying all that I am not familiar with what this fasttrack course is - if it is aimed at people with no A Levels - go for it.

...you could also maybe arrange to meet with someone from the Fasttrack course provider to discuss your potential and chances of gaining a place and to pick their brain about what type of applicant they want.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Laura-23)
    Hello, I'm new to this I'm currently writing a personal statement for a Fastrack course with progression onto initial teacher training. I'm 23 and haven't got any A levels but I do have experience in primary school having worked as a teaching assistant for over 12 months. I am looking for advice on how best to sell myself as I'm aware I don't have half the qualifications of other applicants.
    What do you think my chances are of actually gaining a place?