Turn on thread page Beta

The A Level Music Revision Thread- Summer 2011 watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey
    I thought I would create a thread where people can post revision tips, revision notes and ask questions about the music exams this summer....

Hopefully it will get off to a good start

What exam board are you studying?
    What do you need help with?
    What can you offer help with?

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying Edexcel A2 Music and I really need some advice on how to revise effectively, especially for the listening and essay section of the written exam. Anyone got any ideas?

ReputationRep:
    Im doing the edexcel exam, the best way that i have found to revise at the minute it by none stop listening to the songs, so i have my ipod and have just the 11 tracks on shuffle just in the background while im revising for my other subjects. It isnt to help you know about the track but i find it helps me to pin point where about the piece of music is when i have done a practise listening exam.

I really need help with the essays thought :/ i cant seem to get my head around them? any help please?

ReputationRep:
    To prepare for the essays, I am planning on (when I have time), to write 6 bullet points for each piece, for each of the possible features e.g Rhythm or Tonality.

The essay questions I think are worth 36 marks, and include comparing 3 different pieces, on two different features. Therefore 6 bullet points for each x 3 different pieces x 2 features = 36

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by The Cello Ninja)
    To prepare for the essays, I am planning on (when I have time), to write 6 bullet points for each piece, for each of the possible features e.g Rhythm or Tonality.

The essay questions I think are worth 36 marks, and include comparing 3 different pieces, on two different features. Therefore 6 bullet points for each x 3 different pieces x 2 features = 36