Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,
    My names Albert and I am just finishing my first year as an undergraduate, I have serious concerns about my course, University and area I live in which I’ll disclose now.

In regards to the course I don’t feel as if the work is gearing you up to a job within the workplace which for me is important, I would like to get some hands on experience on the tools used within the workplace so I can feel like I am ready to enter the world of work. The most disappointing thing for me is what they are teaching is very basic, I don’t feel like I am out of A-Levels accept you sit in a lecture room and your learning is up to you, for example; some of my lectures finish 30-45 minutes early which is really uninspiring and demotivating especially as I could be at a much higher University.

Have to say that the course doesn’t hold many that are actually interested in the subject itself, almost using it as an excuse to get a degree and whilst the first year modules seem quite easy they could be onto something, anyhow their lack of interest is probably best showed in the society in which there has been 3 meet ups cancelled to lack of interest.

To the area, it’s a very deprived part of town whilst there are good sides ie being cheap, there really isn’t much to do here although that’s not concerning for me but jobs are limited and whilst the accommodation is very poor with influx of mice on a weekly basis.