Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

MSc Software Engineering - York vs Southampton vs UCL watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am interested in a Software Engineering masters at either York, Southampton or UCL. I would like to hear more thoughts on the relative merits of these universities. For e.g. are there any distinct advantages that one of these universities offer which might be lacking in others ? I am international applicant, so I am interested in opinions closer to the ground.

Thank you !

ReputationRep:
    I'm not a computer scientist myself, though I do know a guy doing the MSc in Computer Science at UCL. All I know is it's killing him.

Southampton is very strong for CompSci, I have another friend there at undergrad level and he just won some Google award bursary thing which is supposed to be very competitive.

Check out the link below, though remember to look at the individual categories where the unis have scored highly, rather than paying too much attention to the overall ranking. Decide which factors are most important to you, and hopefully that'll help inform your opinion.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/...ciences-and-it

ReputationRep:
    Southampton has a very good CS department, but UCL is an overall more prestigious university and its well-known outside of Europe. It's also much more expensive (it's in London!)

I know UCL makes it very difficult for MSc students, and you should be expecting loads of stuff to do every week. But also they have very good connections with industry and a very good job zone. Getting into UCL is also more difficult as they only have 25 positions for software engineering every year and I know that half of these positions are already allocated for.

If you already have an offer for UCL and you can afford it then go for it, if not I'd say focus on Southampton or other alternatives.

ReputationRep: