Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm new to the student room forums, i've been meaning to join for a while but generally anything i've wanted to ask has been asked already.

Anyway - I have a bit of a problem:
    Recently i just cashed a cheque for £30 from an ex friend.
    He gave me the cheque as he wanted to write a cheque, then loosely said this can be for your new-years party (which never happened in the end).
    Since this happened, we've fallen out - badly and i found the cheque and cashed it.
    He said that he's getting the police involved.

To me this sounds over the top, if he had just asked for it, i would have given it back to him but because he did say about getting the police involved i was wondering what legal entitlement a cheque gives the bearer and what conditions must be met for the cheque to still be legal?

I'm going to give him his money back, but what grounds would he have against me? - I didn't steal from him, as he gave it to me.

Any thoughts?

ReputationRep:
    I don't think the police will do anything. He is being ridiculous and he gave the cheque to you so you haven't done anything wrong as far as I can tell.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dark-Audio)
    I'm new to the student room forums, i've been meaning to join for a while but generally anything i've wanted to ask has been asked already.

Anyway - I have a bit of a problem:
    Recently i just cashed a cheque for £30 from an ex friend.
    He gave me the cheque as he wanted to write a cheque, then loosely said this can be for your new-years party (which never happened in the end).
    Since this happened, we've fallen out - badly and i found the cheque and cashed it.
    He said that he's getting the police involved.