Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am coming to the end of my first year of a foundation degree course and I am seriously questioning whether I want to continue into the second year. So many people have dropped out I am the only full time student left on the course (there are two part time students but I will not be in classes with them next year ). I am also questioning whether it was the right course for me in the first place, and am struggling to get motivated to do the work. If I pass the first year I will have achieved a certificate of higher education at level 4.
    I am a mature student with a husband and children and as such got the Maintenance loan & tuition fee loan, plus the maintenance grant, adult dependents grant, parents learning allowance and childcare grant this year. I also got a bursary from the university.
    If I were to get on to a full 3 year honours degree course starting in September, would I be eligible for student finance? Would this be the full package or just the loans? Would I have to pay back the grants I got this year if I left my current course?
    The university website says that bursaries don't have to be paid back unless you leave the course, which is also a concern. I don't know what to do, it's not looking good and i could do with some advice

ReputationRep:
    As you've only studied for 1 year before quitting, then yes, you would be eligible for full support like all students. All students are entitled to a gift year.

Unfortunately you will have to pay back all the financial support you have received for this year, but your future entitlement to student finance won't be affected.

Kind regards.

ReputationRep:
    I rang SF today and they said I would have to pay back anything that was meant to cover the period from when I withdraw from the course through to September, so around 10 weeks money.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by divastrop)