Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all

I just got an e-mail saying ive had an offer on my student finance

i went on there and there was my maintenance loan and the loan to cover my course fees but no sign of a maintenance grant???

im 21 and stated i had been working part time for the past 3 years whilst going to college (also living with parents), i sent it all my p60's and it stated i would be entitled to the full amount.

Does the grant application come later or should i ring them??

thanks

ReputationRep:
    This happens

ReputationRep:
    What is the status of your application according to the website?

ReputationRep:
    it said they have sent me a letter that i will receive in 3-4 days to sign and send back, to accept the offer

ReputationRep:
    This happened to my boyfriend. Exactly the same situation. Did you say to them that you are financially supporting yourself despite the fact you are living with your parents?

They said to my boyfriend that because he was living with his parents they automatically assumed he wasn't supporting himself. Because he didn't give his parents income details they only gave him the loan first of all.

Phone them up and explain whats happened. Btw, I think to be considered financially independent you have to have earnt over £30,000 in the last three years.

My boyfriend phoned up HMRC and asked them for a headed letter stating how much he had earnt in the last three years and then forwarded it to Student finance. It all got sorted eventually. Good Luck.

ReputationRep:
    Yes i did

ahhh ok thanks, i definitely didnt earn anywhere near 30k lol

so is there a form i have to get for my parents income, ive seen something about a PPF1 form??

ReputationRep: