Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I'm currently in my final year of an undergrad degree, and am looking at applying for a masters at a different university, starting in 2012, after a year out with voluntary work experience etc. However, after discussions with my parents, they have suggested that I apply for this year instead, as universities will be putting their own postgraduate fees up in 2012 to comply with the undergraduate fee rise. However, I want a year out of education and would like a year's work experience, so ideally I'd like to take a year out before applying.

I know this question has been asked many times, and I have been extensively searching Google, but I have not yet found a reliable answer from a reliable source. Also, the answers are heavily contrasting - some people say that postgrad fees will go through the roof; others say they won't. So I'm looking for a concise, reliable answer from a reliable source. What is the likelihood of having to pay an extortionate amount for a masters starting in 2012?

Thanks in advance.

I've been searching for the same information and stumbled across this written by the University of Durham: