Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Anyone studied 'Heat and Dust' by Ruth Jhabvala? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Im studying it in my IB Diploma, and i dont understnad anything from it.

Does anyone have any good notes on it, and can help me with the main themes?

thanks

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

Coincidentally, I made a mindmap on it today. Some critics argue that Heat and Dust is a post-colonial novel. In any case, most critics agree that it is a post-modern novel at least; it demonstrates key themes and ideas through literary devices more than anything else.

Try to see it more as a novel of ideas, rather than a novel of a plot. The protagonist of the novel is not Olivia or the narrator. It's INDIA. One of the main themes of Heat and Dust is the impossibility of bi-cultural integration. The fact that no matter whether we are in colonial India, or post colonial India, it is not possible for the British to cross "to the other dimension" without suffering severe repercussions.

Such repercussions are symbolised through disease and illness (e.g. Chid and Harry), as well as the Heat and the Dust itself. Jhabvala also uses a LOT of satire and juxtaposition to show this big gap between the British and the Indians. For example, when Olivia sees the Nawab's dinner table she is in awe to see Sevres dinner service, crystals, pomegranates and pineapples (The irony is that Sevres dinner service is very expensive, whereas pomegranates and pineapples grow two a penny in India!). Moreover, when the British are having dinner, they are are having bland, soggy British food, served by bearers in turbans...