Turn on thread page Beta

I know this should go in the motoring forum and mods you are welcome to move this but please don't take this off anonymous as I don't want others to know who I am seeing as I haven't told anyone about this.

Basically I passed my driving test 9 or 10 months ago after a few attempts (due to nerves; the driving examiner who had me always said I was a good driver who did something stupid) and when I did pass I got only 1 minor. This led me to think I was a bad driver with people saying 'you passed 5th time?' and i was mega self-conscious. This didn't help that literally the day after I passed I had an accident... It was pitch black and raining and I had to overtake a parked car, I checked my blind spot but clearly not well enough and scratched the other car. The damages were very minor but I felt really guilty that my dad would have to pay more insurance (went up by £250 and lost no claims for 2 years) and really shaken and disturbed and after that I really avoided driving.

I just felt like a really rubbish driver who shouldn't be on the road. I got back into it after pass plus and became more confident again but I still am shaken and don't like driving at busy times, etc. The thing is I am actually apparently a very good driver and when I gave lifts to my friends, and even my boyfriend (who thinks all women drivers are rubbish, typically) said I was a good driver, but they don't realise how nervous I am!

Anyway I have been away since January and am coming back in a few days time and I am petrified of the idea of driving again. I am a classic worrier and kept taking the train everywhere and making excuses for not driving and I don't like hiding the fact I'm so scared.