Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    How can I go about getting my hands on a Certificate of Academic Standing? I'm planning to apply for the GDL at several universities (CoL, Westminster, City) and need this document to show that my US degree is equivalent to a UK one. I've written SRA about this but they are taking their time getting back to me. Help?

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm a US student and have accepted my offer to City Law for the GDL and I had the same concerns before. I contacted the SRA and this is what they sent me:

To obtain a certificate of academic standing we will need to see the following documents:

- a certified true copy of your degree certificate

- a certified true copy of your degree transcript

These should be sent to Caseworking and Applications, Solicitors Regulation Authority, Ipsley Court, Berrington Close, Redditch, Worcestershire B98 0TD.

On satisfactory validation a certificate of academic standing will be issued and you will be eligible to commence the GDL.
    From my understanding you have to get the Certificate (by applying online and providing the documents) after you graduate. You won't be able to start your GDL (even if you've been accepted) until you've gotten the Certificate.

Does that help?

ReputationRep:
    Perhaps you should apply for a "Statement of Comparability" issued by NARIC first. It costs lesser and you could be sure as to where your application stands prior to application for a Certificate of academic standing. For example, if UK NARIC were to certify your qualification as equivalent to British Bachelors (Ordinary) Degree standard or below, you would not be eligible for a Certificate of Academic Standing in respect of that qualification and it would therefore not be in your interest to apply as the application fee is non-refundable.

ReputationRep:
    9. Eligibility to attempt a Common Professional Examination

(1)

To be an eligible student a person must: