Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm applying at Kent, Nottingham and Southampton, for MA in archaeology programs. Does anyone have opinions or thoughts on these, positives or negatives I should consider?

And cheap restaurants nearby any of them as well!

ReputationRep:
    Hello, im also applying to Southampton for MA archaeology - do you have any specific questions? Im a student there now so can probably help!

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

The university websites are a bit like a commercial to advertise themselves, I guess I'd like to know what students think.

How are the lab facilities, is there alot of volunteer time for students to get experience?

How does the module to study at the British School at Rome work, like applying for a scholarship?

How is living off campus, what areas of Southampton (or outside of the city) do grad students prefer to live in?

I was impressed by Southampton's labs, facilities, etc. Its like Christmas trying to decide.

Thanks,

Anita

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fohmar7887)
    Hi,

The university websites are a bit like a commercial to advertise themselves, I guess I'd like to know what students think.

How are the lab facilities, is there alot of volunteer time for students to get experience?

How does the module to study at the British School at Rome work, like applying for a scholarship?

How is living off campus, what areas of Southampton (or outside of the city) do grad students prefer to live in?

I was impressed by Southampton's labs, facilities, etc. Its like Christmas trying to decide.

Thanks,

Anita
    In terms of southampton;

The lab facilities as far as I am aware are excellent. The amount of opportunities you will get to use them depends on the MA - if you are doing the osteo/ceramics/human origins programmes there would be loads, the others im not sure as to how much lab work there is.