Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,
    I have both AS and A2 exams in May/June. Can anyone remember the questions they got this January (our thereabouts) so I can practice them? I guess that these exact topics wont come up this time around so it should narrow the field as well.

AS: I’m aiming for:
    Hardy’s poetry in Section A
    Gatsby, Kite Runner and Ancient Mariner in Section B

A2: I’m studying:
    Dracula
    Macbeth
    Frankenstein

Thanks.

I also posted this advice if it helps. Maybe others could contribute, expecially to the A2!

AS Exam.
    Section A Question A is only AO2.
    This means you do not have to worry about it looking like an essay with an intro, conclusion, or making an argument. Just talk about how the author/poet creates what you see on the page. Make sure to mention the form, structure and language as you answer. Do not talk about their lives (contexts of production) or what you think of it (reception). It’s easy to just talk about the methods the guy is using.

Section A Question B
    Is the inverse of this. Just talk about what the poet/author was trying to do, how critics have commented on it and what you think of it in the modern day. This one is AO1, which means it should look like an essay. Intro, para 1, para 2, para 3, conclusion etc.

I would aim for about 1 page per question (above). Just don’t waste time by talking about stuff that would earn you points in the other question. You might see it as easier that they have separated out a 1-hour exam question into two separate ones. Though the fact that a lot of students are not taught about AO's means they can do dreadfully on the exam, crap.

Section B
    This is much harder to revise as the question can be so varied. What you can be sure of is it picking out a specific aspect of storytelling (like places, key events) and asks you to explain how this happens in each of your three texts.