Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

UCAS Points/Grade Requirements watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Have Uni's been known to accept applicants that have achieved the required UCAS Points, but haven't got the right grade?

They want a DD from me but I only managed an MM, but I have the right amount of UCAS points and have heard if you have an excellent Personal Statement and plenty of work experience then you can be considered? I've been working for a Web Design company for three years and want to apply for a Digital Media course so I'm hoping this helps me?

I'm trying to call the Uni but they always seem to be busy!

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Maybe. Depends on the uni, the course, your grades, how much they like you, how competitive it is that year, if the admissions tutor is in a good mood, etc. There's no way to know without asking them.

Though I would say that since you're presumably applying as a mature student, and you have a few years of relevant work experience, that would certainly help your chances.

ReputationRep:
    Haha well I'm 21 if that qualifies me as a mature student?

Reason I never went previously was because I wanted to get the work experience that made me stand out from others as well as pay my way through Uni. My personal statement is good, I think I've sold myself well to them and it shows that I have the passion/determination to do their course. I'm just hoping they'll take this over not achieving the DD as I know my stuff and would rather show/tell them instead of them judging me on the grade. I can never get through to them so all I really want is to speak to them either over the phone or get an interview to explain myself.

I want to apply at Christ Church Canterbury, I'm hoping that because they have UCA and University of Kent within walking distance of eachother then Christ Church isn't as competitive.

Thanks for the reply

ReputationRep: