Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I would like to pursue dentistry (graduate entry).

I have a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in psychology, and I am currently studying towards a PhD in the social sciences. I get paid to 'study' for the PhD; in reality it's a research assistant post. I have also never been out of work, I worked part time throughout my undergraduate degree and my master's degree.

Assuming I got in to study dentistry at age 26, I would graduate at 30 years old.
    Would potential employers look unfavourably on the fact that I've spent 12 years studying?

Once you qualify as a dentist, would it matter?

ReputationRep:
    Nope.

ReputationRep:
    No.

ReputationRep:
    no. mature students have more life experience than undergraduates fresh from college.. and are generally more focused and able to communicate effectively with their patients in clinics.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by randomflag)
    I would like to pursue dentistry (graduate entry).

I have a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in psychology, and I am currently studying towards a PhD in the social sciences. I get paid to 'study' for the PhD; in reality it's a research assistant post. I have also never been out of work, I worked part time throughout my undergraduate degree and my master's degree.

Assuming I got in to study dentistry at age 26, I would graduate at 30 years old.
    Would potential employers look unfavourably on the fact that I've spent 12 years studying?

Once you qualify as a dentist, would it matter?
    Chill it's fine...I'm doing dentistry at Leeds and there are a handful people who are studying dentistry aged older than usual i.e. 22-35! As long as you can justify why you decided to dedicate so much time to learning..it's fine

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by azn-wonder91)