Turn on thread page Beta

Provisional driving license = Provisional motorcyle license? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I have a UK Provisional Driving License and want to eventually have a motorcycle license.

Does this count as a provisional motorcyle license too? On the front on number 9, it says:

A,B,f,k,p

On the back, A has a picture of a motorcyle next to it and has from and to dates, (B has car and fkp is blank)... so does this count as my provisional motorcyle license so that I can take my CBT?

Also, I'm completely new with all this, so can someone help me out...

I'm 19 in London/UK. What license should I be going for if I want the least limited license? (in that I can purchase a wider variety of motorbikes (with greater power/engines...w/e)

Also, if I get my license here in London, can I take the eurostar to france and ride around there without any issues?

ReputationRep:
    A is the provisional bike license p is your moped license

This means you can do your CBT.

Can't help with riding in france, although i was told you need a license for a year to ride out there. I HAVE NO SOURCE FOR THIS, IT COULD BE LIES.

However any other license questions have a look at the motorbike soc, i wrote most of the info needed in there about bike tests/licenses, sod it, inffo below.

Bike license stuff
    Spoiler:
    Show
    (Original post by Bathwiggle)
    To do the motorbike test

To start with you need to get your provisional licence. This costs £50, and will entitle you to ride a 50cc bike at 16, or a 125cc bike if you are 17 and over, with L plates, once you have taken the correct training.

Next you need to complete your CBT

This is a 1 day training course, which is complusary and lasts for 2 years once it is completed. It should cost about £100, and is carried out both on and off road, and teaches you to ride safely. There are 5 parts:
    eye sight
    Learning bike controls
    learning to ride the bike
    Talk about the highway code and bike safety