Turn on thread page Beta

"Just keep going, you got nothing to lose." watch

ReputationRep:
    This thread is about this video:

I thought that there were a few profound moments in this video and it was beautifully made (pause). Some of the questions posed really made me think so I thought that it'd be interesting to share the questions to TSR and see what you think. It may also help those who've got some stuff they want to vent.

(All questions are words to the same effect)

1. What are you doing with your life and why?

I'm a Law student right now aiming to become a lawyer, and to be honest I don't know if I want to make money or to help people.

I've got 4 exams coming up after easter and the amount of revision and the work I need to do is extremely daunting. I know I'm going to have to put in so much more work into these exams, more so than in A Levels... my mindstate right now is that if I don't do well in these exams then my chances of getting a vacation scheme at a prestigious law firm next year which, to me, is pretty ****ed as that then makes everything so much harder. I've just been hammering this quote into my brain for weeks now just to motivate myself: "A limit on what you will do is a limit on what you can do."

2. What motivates you more: fear or love, and why?

Fear is definitely what motivates me. I think it's because I don't really have a passion or anything and I'm just one of those people who floats by and sees life pessimistically and cynically. The fear of failure motivates me so much more so than love. It's probably all to do with familial pressures and not wanting to let them down, rather than not wanting to let myself down.

3. Do you believe in government? Do you believe they tell the truth? Why? Do you think they have your best interests at heart?