Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm starting a BA in Fine Art in London this September and I've just finished my art foundation course in London- as I live in London anyway, I've just stayed at home this year to save money. As a result I feel that I've kind of missed out on a lot of the social stuff and feel a bit out of the loop; most of my friends who lived in accommodation last year have now sorted out flatshares/houseshares between themselves for their BAs this September. I guess I'm going to have to move into a hall of residence. I used to be really excited by this idea, but seeing how sort of... party-ish everybody was in these halls this year makes me really nervous. I like where I live to be somewhere comfy and relaxing, not somewhere where I'm constantly worried about looking "fun". God, that makes me sound like an old woman...

I wouldn't call myself a recluse or -anything- like that, I love talking and meeting new people, but I'm not good at going to clubs etc, as I just find it hard to see the point/find dancing amazingly awkward. I suppose I'm just more of a fan of sitting down..? It really depresses me that I don't enjoy clubs and Big Nights Out as I'm worried that finally moving into accommodation is going to be really lonely and I'll be the dull person in the flat who gets everybody else down.

I'm just so disappointed as I really thought moving out would be amazing fun, but I'm just so scared that my future flatmates will find me boring and I'll just end up getting everybody down with no friends in a block I find noisy or miserable.

Please put my worrying mind at rest... Please?!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm starting a BA in Fine Art and Art History at Goldsmiths in Sept - Where are you going to be?