Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Well, I know I should make a decision for myself, but being from overseas as much as I know about British universities are from ranking (haphazard and misleading) , wikipedia, university websites (everyone says they're the best) and here (still can't find a completely relevant thread).

I did my undergrad degree in chemical engineering and I got pretty good results at the end, but I just jumped into it without knowing exactly what was it all about and totally regretted it later. I started this degree at a pretty prestigious university and after two years, I got really depressed (bipolar, but it's now under control), so I quit and moved back to my home country to a so-so university which miraculously accepted my transfer credits even though I have quit my first university. I bet this doesn't look good on my CVs, even though at the end I manage to secure a first (but from a so-so university in a developing country).

I am very environment conscious and I would love to steer away from traditional chem eng roles ( I find machines and equipments both daunting and intimidating!)
    I did a 6-month internship at a petrochemical factory at I felt unease throughout my time there. Still, I don't want to throw away all my engineering knowledge that I spent the total of 6 years ( 2 at 1st uni and 4 at the second) learning!!! So I figured that these programs would be good to go

Rejected

1. Engineering for Sustainable Development at Cambridge
    No surprise.

Offers Received

1. Clean Technology (school of chemical engineering) at Newcastle