Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an overseas student, from the Caribbean, about to apply to transfer into my 3nd year into Birmingham City University to do law, an LLB. I am in my 2nd year of University Of London International Programmes, LLB, and exams are coming up in May. However I would Really like to get in to BCU, and based on my correspondence on the phone and e-mail they seem keen on the idea, and I already fulfill the necessary requirements for a transfer into the 2nd year.

However most of this year, honestly I have not done near enough work because of personal problems and some other things, and I am unsure as to whether or not I will be able to even pass all four of the modules and even if I do it would not be to the standard I know I am capable of, and this year the grades will contribute to the quality of my degree.

The problem is however, I am afraid that I am going to be offered a place in the 3rd year and be unable to fullfill the requirements and lose the chance to go. In which case I am wondering whether I should apply for the 2nd year to be safe and redo the year (which deep down, I have no problem with, and in some ways prefer), even though this will cost my parents more money, they would still be willing to pay. I am applying through UCAS and need to put something in the Point Of Entry box.

I spoke to the BCU International Enquiry Manager and asked if I was to apply for 3rd year and was for whatever reason unable to obtain the grades they wanted, would I then be still elligible for a place in the 2nd year and I was told "of course" and that they would try to extend an offer wherever possible.

However, I am quite hesitant to believe that (perhaps just encouraging me to apply), has anyone ever heard of someone receiving two offers for the same course? Meaning, would I honestly recieve an offer to go into the 3rd year AS WELL AS an offer to enter to the 2nd year?