Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What is it like from those that have studied it? To what extent does it combine the subjects and how much reading is there (I don't mind reading)? And what does the course consist of?

Would it combine well with History, Government and Politics and Business/Economics?

Many thanks,

I do AS English Lang/Lit AQA Spec A.

For the AS so far I'd say it was more Language orientated than Literature, but I suspect that in the A2 it will be more Literature orientated (as it's all about poetry)

For the first exam I studied and analysed the play A Streecar Named Desire then in the exam I wrote a creative writing piece based upon it. I had to write a letter between two characters before the play had started and in past exams they've asked you to write about the location and finish a scene.
    I also had to write a language and character analysis of Wuthering Heights, which focused mainly on the characterisation and themes of the novel.
    For my next exam in June I'm studying the play Waiting for Godot and in the exam I write an essay on how speech is representated between the two characters and what they way they speak tells the audience about them. I also have to anaylse 2 unseen speeches; one is formal, prepared text and the other is a spontaneous transcript. We've learned all about the reasons why people use certain language featuers and to what effect in much more detail than in the GCSE.

There's not loads of compulsary reading invovled for the AS. Most people in my group didn't read Wuthering Heights and still got a D. The list of books for the teachers to chose from is pretty big so some groups study 2 modern texts, some study 2 older texts. I think I was expected to have read other Victorian Literature and I do think reading Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice before the exam helped me understand Wuthering Heights.