Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, title pretty much sums it up: I'm an undergraduate, and really starting to panic. I do love French and am glad I'm studying it at uni (joint honours), but the main module you absolutely have to pass - core language - is typically the one I'm struggling with.
    I'm thinking I'm going about working on it the wrong way or perhaps not got enough access to good resources? Unless there's no tips and all I can genuinely do is sit there and learn rules rather than pick things up any other way?

Basically, we've had 2 grammar tests so far this academic year - each worth 7% of the core language module, and I've managed to fail them both. I got 35% and 37%, I think, which I am aware is just awful. There's a big language test at the end of term which is worth 50% of the entire module so I definitely need to do well in that but just feel so overwhelmed. And obviously I have my other subject's exams to revise for as well, but all I'm panicking about right now is grammar (which I'm aware is risky).

Anyway, all the waffle aside: does anyone have any tips or advice for tackling French grammar and SOMEHOW making it more interesting, lol? Or any good website links etc.? Would be MUCH appreciated - even some words of comfort would help right now!

ReputationRep:
    "French grammar" is pretty wide, and by giving it a big umbrella title you're making it one big scary impossible mountain to climb. Break it down by making a list of SPECIFIC things you struggle with (things like adverbial pronouns, relative pronouns and adjective/adverb usage are things people often find tricky, as well as certain tenses/moods). If you're not sure where you're going wrong then ask your tutor or look over work that you've had corrected.