Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm going to japan from june 10th-july 2nd, and I'm trying to get comprehensive travel insurance for it. Probably Annual Worldwide Insurance excluding N.America & Canada (I think that's what most insurances do?).

Things I want it to cover:

Medical expenses
    Legal expenses
    Luggage & Personal Items
    Personal Money (cash, traveller's cheques)
    Flight cancellation & curtailment
    Catastrophes including earthquakes, tsunamis (and possibly typhoons)
    Missed Departure (including return journey)
    Missed connections (including outside of UK and on return)
    Airline/Accommodation insolvency/bankruptcy
    Departure & luggage delay
    Extra accommodation expenses due to departure delay
    Level 1 activities (I won't be doing any actvities except maybe walking in the mountains but not at high altitudes as I'm a novice)
    Mugging
    Travel documents (passport)

I want the insurance company to pay for or arrange new flights/accomodation if the companies I booked with cannot do it themselves.

What travel insurances did you take on your trips outside Europe? Is there anything you wish had been covered but wasn't?

Lonely Planet & Rough Guides both seem to recommend World Nomads, but they don't mention anything about missed departures/connections, catastrophes and don't seem very specific in their policy wording, so I don't know what they cover and what they don't? I've read on some insurance websites (I think M&S was one of them?) that they weren't covering curtailment or cancellation due to the japanese earthquake/tsunami disaster because they weren't mentioned in the policy (and not because it stated that they were NOT covered). So I don't want to take out an insurance with World Nomads and find out that I'm not covered for some things simply because they didn't mention them.