Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This sounds really stupid, but I have a habit of embarrassing myself in everyday situations so figured that being a fool on an anonymous internet forum is better than being a fool in person.

I have decided to purchase a gift card for a friend's upcoming birthday. However, I've never bought a gift card before. Sounds ridiculous, but what do you actually do when buying a gift card?

ReputationRep:
    Say to the person at the till "hello, could I please purchase a giftcard?"

You hand over one of the blank gift cards (should have them at the counter - if not, don't be scared of asking :ninja:), tell them how much you want to put on it and you then pay for it just like anything else in the shop. They top up the card with the requisite amount and give you a receipt

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ch0llima)
    You hand over one of the blank gift cards (should have them at the counter - if not, don't be scared of asking :ninja:), tell them how much you want to put on it and you then pay for it just like anything else in the shop. They top up the card with the requisite amount and give you a receipt
    Probably didn't need to be told that.

Spoiler:
    Show
    Still working away...

ReputationRep:
    And don't forget, 9 times out of 10 gift cards are NON-REFUNDABLE! As they are cash alternative, many retailers will not let you change your mind and opt for a refund once the money has entered the business.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sebbytotherescue)
    And don't forget, 9 times out of 10 gift cards are NON-REFUNDABLE! As they are cash alternative, many retailers will not let you change your mind and opt for a refund once the money has entered the business.